Dress refashion to jacket and creating a flared cuff

Another find, on a sale rail, such a pretty little print, I couldn’t pass it by, and at £3.60, I went back and bought another one. The first one I decided to refashion into a jacket, because it was in my size and I like to refashion garments as well as harvest the fabric from them. Still undecided about the second one??

There were lots of features on this dress that I could keep. The narrow back waist tie, the sleeves and the entire body shape. For the length I simply shortened it. I found the centre front line and cut it. Because I liked the shape of the sleeve that came with the dress that I refashioned for Elena at Sewitwithlove.com, I decided to recreate it for this jacket.

I based the flares for the sleeve on a half circle shape. Measure the sleeve hem edge and apply the formula where Pye = 3.14. My sleeve measurement was 25 cm, and I wanted to find the radius, so that I could form the half circle shape from a central point and measure out. 25cm divided by 3.14 = 7.96cm.

I cut the pair from the cut off hem pieces. If I was making a skirt piece from a circle or half circle, I would leave it to hang for a few days, as it would inevitably drop at the bias areas. But for these little sleeve ends, I hemmed them before attaching.

The sleeve ends, before and after.

I used the back panels of the second dress to form the two button stands. And found a new home for some of my newly acquired vintage buttons.

I added patch pockets, I always like having pockets of some sort on jackets. And used my template method of getting a good, neat, curved shape on the edges.

 

13 thoughts on “Dress refashion to jacket and creating a flared cuff

  1. Great buttons. Love the maths too – pattern drafting is so mathsy, I always enjoy that side of it! The sleeves look heaps better. And it has got a hint of early 20th Century about it. What sort of fabric is it – viscose maybe? And do you have any plans for the other dress?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love a good button too. I’ve been really lucky finding them recently? And yes there’s always a bit of maths, I don’t know about you, but I’m from an era where I work in imperial and metric at the same time! Definitely viscose, one of my favourite fabrics. I was thinking about making the second dress into a top that I might wear with the jacket and give it a bit of a twinset look! Although I have a thing about little unlined jackets at the moment, great alternative to the summer cardi!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good one Linda. You may meet my husband one day – he memorised Pi to 150 places, but don’t ask him now, he only gets to 50!!
    I really love this sleeve detail and may just have to give it a try. It will be interesting to compare a half circle with a 3/4 and full circle. Lovely job on the jacket – I agree the fabric is lovely, almost a bit Charles Rennie Macintosh like??

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha! That level of pi is enough for me, thanks very much, I can’t even imagine that many associated numbers, but if it gives me a nice flared sleeve then great. The full circle wouldn’t even need a seam.
    Interestingly the sleeve that originally inspired me was cut flat on the top with the flare only towards the underarm seams. I should have looked at that before cutting my one, now I might try it again in that way!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

