1 top x 2 refashions and a maybe.

 

This refashion, is a refashion of a refashion. Starting it’s life as a top, which I wore a lot, when I got bored of it, it then became a top with a neck detail.

Initially, I shortened the top, made side slits at the hem, and used the off cut for the neck tie. The full story of this remake can be found here.Β It almost became fur edged, but instead, now, months later, became a button up.

I can usually tell if I really like a refashion or not, simply by the amount of times I wear it! However it bugged me that the tie neck didn’t really show up in that busy fabric. I unpicked the neck tie and pressed it flat. Unfortunately the strip wasn’t long enough to make a button stand, so I split it in half lengthways and made it 3.5cm wide.

I always have bits of things stashed away and I decided to face the button stand with strips cut from an old black t-shirt. Because the fabric was a knitted fabric, it meant that the button stand strip, which was straight, followed the newly cut v-neck edge to form the cardigan neck shaping. I stitched it on, boxed out the corners at the hem, overlocked the seam and topstitched.

I don’t think I can make this into anything else, I do like it as it is now…but never say never!!

 

7 thoughts on “1 top x 2 refashions and a maybe.

Leave a Reply

