Liebster Award

liebster-award-2

A Liebster award! How fab! Lesley at Sewniptuck, very kindly nominated me for a Liebster award! Thank you Lesley! You can see what she likes to do here.

If you are not familiar with the Liebster Award these are the ‘rules’:

The Liebster nominee must:

  • Thank your nominator
  • Show the award on your blog
  • Answer 10 questions asked to you
  • Ask 10 questions to up to 10 new nominees (who have less than 200 followers)
  • Notify them.

These are the questions Lesley sent to me,

What do you wish you’d named your blog? Does anyone ever know what to name a blog!? Remake Remodel is a Roxy Music song and I have been a massive fan of their’s forever, I simply added the recycle – seemed appropriate!?

What attracts you to a blog? It has to be mainly about any aspect of sewing.

Tell us something we might not know about you? I recently started volunteering at Remade in Edinburgh, giving sewing assistance to anyone who pops in.

Cat or dog, which variety? I have 2 cats, but I do like dogs too!

Chicken or fish, which dish? Don’t care, but would prefer for someone to make it for me!

Why do you blog? It was pointed out to me that there was a huge online sewing community, so I decided to investigate. I love to see what others enjoy sewing. 

How do you choose a blog topic? Sometimes I think that I’m so obsessed with sewing, and particularly refashioning, that an idea will just pop into my head when I see anything that inspires me. I can’t even go to the cinema now without thinking, I like that top, or, I wonder if I could or should make that?

How often do you blog? I have no routine, and I usually have a few at a time waiting to be finished off.

Do you have a writing habit, if so, tell us about it? None. The only other writing I have ever done was notes for students for pattern cutting and technique classes.

Name your favourite book and favourite film? I’m going to cheat here, because I have favourite books and films for different reasons and moods! Favourite classic book, Madame Bovary by Flaubert, favourite recent book, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. Favourite film, this is even harder, Perfect Sense, not because it’s set in Glasgow, comedy classic Billy Liar, which I recently mentioned in a blog, and Betty Blue, from the 80’s, tragic and sexy!

My questions for my nominees are:

What has surprised you about blogging?

What inspires you to sew whatever you sew?

I spread myself all over the room I’m working in, with no regard for anyone else and become a selfish sewist. What is your most selfish sewing habit?

Where do all the pins go? Can anyone answer this?

Why do you blog?

Tell us something we might not know about you? (Pinched from Lesley because I liked this one)

What is your favourite book?

Favourite film?

Which catches your eye first, plain or print?

What is your favourite sewing gadget?

 

My nominees are

Eimear of The Up Sew

Jane of Janemakes

Liza of Sewitorthrowit

Naomi of Spare Room Style

Lesley of I F*king sewing

ccmercer of Marking and Making

Michele of vintagethrifter51

If I could, I would nominate Shabana, she has so much energy and enthusiasm for what she does, and is always encouraging and lovely to speak to! However, at the moment she has no blog, but you can find her at @Bobbin&Spool on twitter, or Sewing with Bobbin&Spool on facebook! 

 

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. thank you Linda for the nomination, very pleased and will get to it tommorw. but I must ask you about the ‘remade’ you volunteer in…. is it a project, are there set times, it sounds so interesting…….going off now to read these questions, thanks again, quite chuffed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

