A museum and theatre trips

There was a new costume exhibit, A Century of Style and Colour 1800 – 1899, opening at Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow. So when I noticed it mentioned on the Kestral Makes blog, who is the co host of the #vintagepledge, I thought I’ll get in touch and meet up with the group of sewing and knitting bloggers who live in Edinburgh and Glasgow who were planning a trip to the exhibition, then for lunch and a fabric/pattern swap. A big thank you to Franca from the Oranges and Apples blog, who organised it all.

/

These are just a few of my favourite costumes from the exhibition.

These are the goodies I got from the pattern/fabric swap.

And on to the theatre

Many years ago I watched this film, and I thought Wow!!

So when my daughter asked if I wanted to go to see Carmen at the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh I was delighted. Sometimes you wonder if things get exaggerated in your head over the years!? On Friday we went to see the performance and all I can say is another Wow!!

Now I’m looking forward to the next one!

4 thoughts on “A museum and theatre trips

  1. Such beautiful costumes, just imagine all the work (and fabric) that went into making them. That photograph on the knitting pattern is hysterical! Sounds like you had a great meet up – what a lovely, happy bunch of sewers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

