The Sewoverit vintage shirt dress?

I loved the look of this dress as soon as I saw the drawings. Cute collar and rever, neat bodice shape, I like the use of the tucks to replace the darts, and a good sleeve shape with the turn-up cuff detail. The Sewoverit vintage shirt dress. This is the first produced pattern I have been tempted to buy – ever!

I went to Remnant Kings fabrics in Edinburgh and found this fabric. It was £4.99 per metre, perfect, £9.98 for a jacket. I would spend more if necessary but I prefer to test patterns inexpensively! Also, it’s good to show that sewing projects are accessible to every budget. I never intended on making the dress, I rarely wear them, and I do always wear what I make. However I loved the shape and details and had already planned how I would adapt the pattern!

The pattern itself was easy to follow as I traced it off onto paper with a tracing wheel and transferred all the relevant markings. Even if I’m redrafting a pattern of my own I copy it before I cut it up. It’s a good habit to keep the original pattern as a reference. Anyone who produces their own patterns knows how easy it can be to make a mistake!

20150908_145505
Pattern ready to trace off, I always use a tracing wheel, size chosen and simply follow the correct line.

The only change I wanted to make to this pattern was to shorten it and make it into a jacket, and add a self fabric matching belt. The bodice front and back, the sleeves, the collar and facings I kept as the original. The skirt front and back pieces I made 25cm from the waist down, marked the lengths and cut. The front facing I copied and added the 25cm to it, eliminating the facing seam.

When I want to mark the dots at the end of a tuck I make holes and use a white coloured pencil.
When I want to mark the dots at the end of a tuck I make holes in the paper pattern and use a white coloured pencil.
I then mark the pin ends with the pencil.
I then mark the pin ends with the pencil.

It sewed together very easily and the silhouette is great. It took me a day to make, the perfect way to spend a rainy bank holiday!

I matched the print across the front and across the back from the hemline.
I matched the print across the front, and on the back, following the print across the hemline.

I added belt loops to each side seam to hold the belt in place. I used one of my buckles which luckily matched some old buttons I had. This fabric is so fine that I not only interfaced the belt strip but I also sewed in a cotton strip for extra firmness, from an old pillowcase. I gave it a pointed end shape and a belt loop to hold it all in place. Now ready to wear!

8 thoughts on “The Sewoverit vintage shirt dress?

  1. Terrific adaptation of that pattern. I loved it when it came out, such a cute rever and Lisa Comfort who owns So Over It appears to be a real delight – I love her Vlog just for the accent!!
    What a great tip about marking with a white pencil, thats how we mark skin for laser – it doesn’t absorb light so its safe!!

    Like

  2. Thank you, your very kind, I loved the look of the pattern because of the drawings, but much as I liked the dress, I knew I would wear my jacket version more, this is Scotland after all!?

    Like

    1. I’m not a fan of peplum’s usually either. I think this one works ok because it’s not too flared! Often peplum’s are based on a circle skirt shape so they flare out a lot!?
      I was, of course, going to hack this pattern, but now you’ve put the thought in my head of whether I can make it into a one piece front and back and lose the waist seam???
      Don’t you just love sewing – it never ends, there’s always something new to try!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

