Festival of Repair pledge #rubbishdiet

#rubbishdiet My pledge for September is to repair all the holes in the pockets in the household! And there were multiples of them. How do they do it!?

This is how I fix them. I start by trimming away the frayed pieces, turn the edges of the pockets in on themselves at about 1.5cm, slant a tiny dart shape where the original stitching ends, this allows the seam allowance to roll over. Pin to hold the seam allowances in place.

Topstitch or hand stitch the pinned hole and then for extra strength I stitched a second line. I sewed this in a different colour so that the method could be easily seen, it’s my son’s jacket anyway and he won’t care, plus it will never be seen!

Leave a Reply

