Jean’s little black dress

Jean felt the dress was a bit short and when she had previously worn it, she kept pulling it down to try to cover her knees. It was Jean’s idea to add a bit of 7″ stretchy lace to the bottom edge with 3.5″ overlap and 3.5″ sitting below the finished hem edge. She had already reshaped the side seams so I followed her lines and on one side zig-zagged and overlocked the seam. On the other side l cut the fabric to the new seam edge and unpicked her hand stitching. This meant I could sew the lace on, while the dress was flat.

 

I pinned the lace finish line on the dress and pinned the lace on to follow this line. I pinned the lower edge too, above the original hemline and not on the bottom edge, as this would have stretched the fabric too much ( because of the thickness ). Using my twin-needle I stitched along the top edge, then twin-needled along the lower edge, just above the finished hem line.

I put the dress right sides together to join the side seam, matching the lace top and bottom edges.

I zig zagged and overlocked the seam. I then zig zagged the lace seam flat and continued this for 2cm onto the hem to secure it. I pressed the area with the steam iron but under a cloth, you can’t risk the lace melting! It looks great and gives the right amount of knee coverage.

Jean wore the dress to an evening out and it looked lovely.

One thought on “Jean’s little black dress

Leave a Reply

