More vintage

Lou Lou’s Vintage Fair is a new one to appear in Edinburgh and the next one is on Sunday 26th July 11-5pm @ the Assembly Rooms, George Street. Out of the Blue flea market is on every last Saturday of the month.

Oooh! What will I find this time?

1950’s dress and jacket set.

This is exactly the type of print I adore. So the excitement of spotting it from afar, getting to it and then the final hurdle of – will it fit – that’s one of the pressures of this, and thrift shop hunting – the find – and then the elation or disappointment of the size. This is why I often buy and remake!

Anyway back to the 50’s set. I am fully aware that many years ago I could have worn this as a set, but now? now I would look as old as the outfit? never one to be hindered too much, I have been wearing them as separates.

The jacket is very flattering with neat waist shaping, beautifully tucked pocket and tab detailing, 3/4 length sleeves and the original complete set of buttons. I wear this jacket with black trousers and when I squeeze myself into the dress it looks good with a duster coat, jacket or cardigan. Interestingly the shaping of the dress, the darts, the seam shaping and the positioning of the tucks makes the dress feel very structured when worn, quite corset-like. This makes me feel like the lumpy, bumpy bits just don’t show!!

Leave a Reply

