The dress alteration and then I did it again

P1070519

I ordered this dress online, in a sale, for a special occasion. It looked very nice on the woman on the photo but I was aware that the low price probably meant there was little shaping in the garment. It was ordered from French Connection so I knew it would be a good quality of cloth. The fabric was a knit in 100% viscose so I knew it would have a nice drape. When it arrived (I love opening parcels I have ordered because they feel like presents to yourself!) it turned out to be just as I expected – a trapeze shape. This is fine but this dress had a belt and the belt had no way of knowing where to sit! I tried not to, but I knew it was going to have to be altered. So do I return or reshape? Time to decide.

Scan-2

Scan-4

Oops! This does happen. I still didn’t like the way it was sitting – I’m not going to give myself a baggy behind. I don’t like unpicking but it had to be done.

Scan-3

I don’t have an image of the dress in its full trapeze shape. The images below are all taken after the second remodel.

2 thoughts on “The dress alteration and then I did it again

Leave a Reply

