From ties to button stand

I loved the print on this top. It’s sleeveless but I do live in Scotland so I’m never usually without a cardigan or light jacket of some sort.
I didn’t notice the lovely back tie detail until I got home. I do like the ties but I don’t like the gap they create! Do I return it or look for a solution? The problem being that I would inevitably wear something over it! This would mean odd bumps down my back or only being able to wear something loose enough for them not to be noticed!

Scan-5

I pulled the top through to see how the back was constructed and was delighted to see that there was a 5cm wide separate facing, not including the seam allowance, with the ties sandwiched in between. Solution. Unpick the facing and ties and sew it back on as a 2.5cm button stand.

4 thoughts on “From ties to button stand

Leave a Reply

