Using narrow interfacing on fine fabric edges

I had noticed weeks ago a twitter post about the use of a narrow strip of interfacing on the edge of a waistband for the facing of a skirt! So here are more ways to use it.

This was a top that my friend Moira had bought and she really liked the print and the style of it but was disappointed because the shape wasn’t as fitted as she would have liked it to be. This was a quick one to fix:

Scan-17

I bought a very long shirt that needed shortened. I had to unpick part of the hem and found that it had been interfaced 1.5cm wide along all of the hem edge. I decided to copy this and found it so much easier to sew, a double turned hem on a sheer viscose or polyester fabric can be a nightmare of twisting and stretching.

I often revamp things before deciding whether to recycle them or not. The black sleeveless top was very long, however I still liked the minimal print so I decided to shorten it. This should have been a simple task but as I sewed the double turned hem the slight curve created a tiny bit of stretch that made the hem wobble off! This had to be unpicked and I decided to try the technique of applying interfacing to the hem edge.

P1070932
This image shows the interfacing ironed onto the edge of the top.

I cut strips from the length of interfacing I already had and ironed it on, being careful not to stretch the fabric as I worked my way round the hem. Of course, if I’d been working from a pattern I would have measured the exact length of the hem edges and cut them to the exact lengths required.

I often use interfacing to define the hems on wool/wool mix fabrics when making coats and jackets, but never on such lightweight types like polyesters or viscose. Another technique shared!

2 thoughts on “Using narrow interfacing on fine fabric edges

Leave a Reply

